Health · Wellness

My Time Away and Future Goals

Hey there,

I’ve been away from my blog for quite a bit of time now. I, along with many other people out there, struggle to find the time to balance everything going on in my life. I had all the intentions of updating my blog regularly, as well as attending the Blogging 101 class that WordPress offers. But, as life has it, there is always a wrench that can be tossed into plans.

Sadly, on the evening of June 7th, my grandmother who is so extremely near and dear to my heart, passed away. I have been struggling to deal with this loss and having to reschedule my hectic spring schedule. My grandmother lives out of town so I spent two weekends flying to and from home in order to have a few final moments with her and my family. So, understandably, my blog has fallen to the wayside – I have put pause on this part of my time in order to deal with everything else going on. My grandmother lived an amazing 91.5 years and decided that she had given enough love and direction to all of her children, grandchildren and great grandchildren, and it was her time to be reunited with my grandfather and aunt in whatever place is reserved for us after we leave our current places. This time is so unbelievably difficult. I find that the toughest part of someone’s passing is the permanency of the situation. No matter how many tears I shed, or hugs and well wishes received, there is nothing I or anyone around me can do to bring her back. I know that she is in a better place now, but out of pure, selfish love, I wish she was sitting in her chair waiting for me to return home to give her a hug and an eskimo kiss. Luckily, I have had so many beautiful moments with my grandmother that I can cherish for the rest of my life. I regularly told her how much I love her and miss her and that I can’t wait to come home to see her again. She knew my love was unconditional and that through anything, I would always be by her side.

This is a moment for me to share my love for her with all of you. The below picture is one of my prized possessions. It is a photo from my sisters wedding that captured one of those beautiful moments I got to share with her.

936389_10151463244003657_1016677468_nAs I continue to live with the loss, I have to find the time to continue to push myself to achieve the short and long term goals that I have set for myself. I plan to commit more time to my blog going forward. I originally created my blog to help first time home buyers – in which I have shared all of my knowledge on the subject. I want to continue on with my blog so I plan on continuing in a different direction.

Last fall I started learning about nutrition and it pulled me in a direction that I had no idea was so intriguing to me. I have become SO interested in this topic and I want to share my knowledge with everyone. I am looking to apply to nutrition school in the fall which will allow me to gain formal knowledge and potentially find a new direction in my life in the long term. I am going to use my studies to help me find direction with my blog and write compelling articles and provide simple knowledge that will create benefits to anyone who stops by.

In the few months that I have been participating in this industry I have noticed so many things that I want to change. There is so much information out there that contradicts each other and it is so confusing to the average person looking to get healthy! On top of that, everyone has strong opinions about the topic so it makes it even harder to find the truth in the information. I am particularly interested in Holistic Nutrition, but many people out there are skeptical of the topic, and many call them “quacks”. I want to be able to find a balance within this that will allow me to appeal to those skeptics. I never want to give off a strong opinion that discourages others from learning more about the benefits of whole, nutritious food. I hope that with my studies and blog posts that I can inform people of the basics of nutrition that got me so interested in the topic and allowed me to change my habits for the better.

I have also found that of the free nutrition seminars I’ve attended, that the naturopath doctors and nutritionists presenting are very arrogant and don’t have the customer service skills I would expect from a service provider. It is definitely something that I want to change, because I would never want a skeptic or a person eager to learn more about health and nutrition to get a bad vibe off of someone looking to help.

From here on I will slowly be transitioning to documenting my journey through nutrition school and any other bumps that life lays down for me. What this means is, I hope I am on here more frequently writing to you all about  compelling topics!

Until next time

Briana

One thought on “My Time Away and Future Goals

  1. Briana, first let me say i am sorry for your loss. I too was blessed with a grandmother that was an angel on earth. When she went on to glory i grieved and now 20 years later i have peace but miss her dearly. This pastt year my mom whom was my dearest friend dropped dead folding laundry. Six months later my dear daddy died from s broken heart. It has been the most difficult year of my life. I wish i could tell you that I was fine but i still have a huge void in my heart. I am told that never goes away but you learn to live with it over time. Each day gets better though. It has been almost a year now and while i miss them always I am able to go about my day in peace and be happy. May the peace of the Lord fill you and give you the strength you need to heal. It does get easier. One day you will find yourself remembering her and smiling but not feeling as though you want to cry. I promise.

    Cindy

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

