Health · Wellness

Great Workout Videos When You Don’t Have a Gym Membership

Videos are a great tool when you don’t have a gym membership, but they are also amazing when you don’t have time to hit the gym or you just don’t feel like leaving the house (like January in Canada – your biggest new years resolution obstacle)

When I first started getting back into working out (after too long of a break) I needed some motivation to get me back into the fitness habit. I don’t have a gym membership because every time I had one I would spend more money on it than time in it. I figured there had to be another option (a free option) to help get me back into shape. Then, when I moved into my new house I made sure  I had a little space for myself so I converted one of the spare rooms into a small, simple gym. But it works perfect for what I need! So, on my quest to find my fitness motivation, I spent hours sitting online watching videos to find the right one to motivate me.

IMG_20150427_205435

That was when I found Pop Sugar Fitness videos. I love them! They are fun to do, fun to listen to and there is so much variety. They have 40, 30, 20, 10 and 5 min video options. So no matter what amount of time you have in your day to workout you can always find one to suit your needs. What I love the most about the 5 and 10 minute videos is I can mix and match. They have great videos that target specific areas, so you can do five 5-min glute videos, or one 5-min glute video, one 5-min thigh video, etc etc and build your own personal workout!

My favourite one that I do regularly is a 30-Minute Pilates Cardio Workout. It has the perfect mixture of cardio, abs, arms and thighs/glutes. For someone who needed to get back into working out, this was the perfect video! It targeted my entire body so I could see results everywhere, and once I had my motivation and determination back I could switch over to working specific “problem” areas. Also, I swear – it gave me abs. And who doesn’t want abs!! Plus, I like the fact that the more often I do it, I have been able to change the weights I’ve been using – which means progress! For the shoulder workouts I had to start at 3lb weights because I’ve never worked out my shoulders (probably ever). But since then I’ve been able to move up to 5lb (which isn’t a lot to some people but hey, progress!)

Another great thing about these videos is that you don’t need a lot of equipment. There are videos for all capabilities, so don’t feel discouraged if one of the videos is too difficult (right now). Don’t give up – try another because you will find one that works really well for your body. I have a couple different dumbbell weights and a yoga mat and I’ve been able to do all of the videos that I’ve tried. Also, I find the moves are really easy to remember, so when I don’t have my laptop around I can make my own workout routine from the mix.

Thanks to these videos it has given me the motivation (and the results!) to continue working out regularly. Plus, I have a really great gym companion – he enjoys lifting weights and doing the plank. Seriously though – look at those arm muscles as he lifts that weight 😉

IMG_20150721_190858  IMG_20150721_190528 IMG_20150721_190736

The best way to see results while you start to work out is make sure you eat right, keep hydrated, make those healthy changes in your daily life and stay positive! 🙂

Do you have a great online resource for working out? I would love to hear from you! Also – if you’re looking for a great online yoga tool I’ve got you covered!

Leave a Reply

