Health · Wellness

My Path to Understanding and Authenticty

I started a blog a few months ago with the decision to help others with their home buying. I struggled finding information to help me along while I was searching and I wanted to help others by posting all the information they needed to know in one place. But then I realized, if I wanted to keep up with my blog I would have to come across another topic in order to continue regularly posting.

I started reading books on nutrition in the Fall of 2014 because I was tired of eating crappy, but the only way I knew that I could change my eating habits was by learning WHY I shouldn’t eat certain foods. I knew needed a guide on what I should be replacing my current food choices with. I’ve always been the type of person that requires background information in order to believe something, I am not one to blindly take information and accept it. Especially if it was in regards to changing my lifestyle.

Since then, I’ve continued to read dozens of nutrition books and made the decision to go to nutrition school which is a HUGE leap for me – I have an undergraduate degree in Business with my original intent graduating from high school to be an accountant. Since graduation, I applied and started doing my Masters in Business which again is so far off from nutrition. Over the past couple of months I’ve been starting to blog more regularly, because I figure if I ever want to go into consulting for nutrition I should build my brand and become an expert in my field. And if I won’t graduate for 2 more years than it gives me ample time to establish myself within the community. Boy is this easier said than done!

I read articles on how to really bring yourself into the blogging community, or get more followers to your page. My idea is that 2 years is a good amount of time to build my brand, but since starting my research, I’ve read articles that tell me if I can’t get enough followers now than I mustn’t be writing the right type of information. Today I found a blog called The Wellness Wonderland and I listened to the first few podcasts when she originally started pod-casting. The podcasts had different guests come on and they all spoke about being authentic. Write like you have an audience of 1000, even if it’s only your mom reading the blog. I know I am passionate about nutrition, and the healing powers of food and wellness, but I must admit, I don’t think I’ve been overly authentic.

I’ve geared a lot of my posts toward the general public – making sure they are topics that any stranger would click on and read – and therefore getting more visitors to my blog. But I’ve started to realize how much more difficult it is to write posts like this – versus just speaking my mind. The idea of being authentic has really resonated with me and I think that I need to go back to my original plan of understanding that it takes time to find the right people who are interested in what I have to say. Sure, in the future it will be great to have a base when I decide to start my own business, but for now, the only purpose for people reading these posts and sticking around is because they like what I have to say – rather than just boring statistical posts. Don’t get me wrong, I do plan to continue to write these posts – but I am definitely going to start working toward adding more of ME into my posts. That way people can really start to get a feel for who I am and why I am so different than the next person.

It’s hard to not continue talking and start on my next topic that I’ve been dying to get out to you all. I have so much more I want to talk about but I want to save it for my next blog posts. The idea of becoming more authentic is actually exhilarating for me. In my short time writing a blog – it’s strange to say – but it’s almost like a relief to hear it’s okay to be authentic. I think a big part of it plays to the fact I am a business student. Trained with a business mind. And I know in the future I want to be an entrepreneur and run my own business. So I see this blog as a vehicle to contribute to my future business. However, I’ve already started to learn that the lack of authenticity isn’t getting me the results I am looking for. The good thing for me is that I’ve started this process early so it gives me the space to learn, grow and make the necessary changes without damaging my image.

So! Here’s to the present, to the future of blogging, and to learning to become authentic!

One thought on “My Path to Understanding and Authenticty

  1. Thank you for writing this. I’m new to blogging and it’s very easy to get lost and feel overwhelmed with all the different advice. You can end up following advice that just isn’t right for you. Your point about being authentic is really important. If you are not being yourself in your blog there is a real risk you will eventually lose interest yourself. I’ve started my blog for ME to help me focus on my well-being and use my time to focus on the things I value. If people like it and want to follow – that’s great. It’s a bonus for me. If they don’t that’s okay too. There is a massive world of blogging out there – you can’t appeal to everyone. You’ll get so much more out of your blog by being authentic than you will just trying to chase followers. Having some followers by being authentic is so much more valuable than having tons of followers but not being authentic. https://cultivatingtime.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

