Health · Thyroid

My Thyroid Journey

I like to try and keep a schedule of when I post blog articles so that way I can get into the habit and share everything in my mind. Today was one of those days – so was this weekend, yet I haven’t posted since last week.

I’ve been diving deeper into understanding my thyroid condition and how much it affects my life and where I can take control of it. I apparently had NO IDEA about so much that relates to my thyroid.

I am very disjointed today and have little focus at all. I have quite a bit of anxiety from many things going on in my life – and as anxiety goes – not a lot of it is warranted worry. I spoke with my mom on Skype last night and told her how today could be a turning point for me, I had a feeling like the cards are all falling into place finally, but at this moment, my Monday isn’t living up to its potential!

I went to a seminar on Saturday about hypothyroidism and Hashimoto’s and I learned so much! I’m excited to learn more about the disease/disorder but at the same time it’s making my mind go crazy. I’m having a hard time really grasping all the information and the fact that I’ve never heard of the majority of this until now. It’s stressful finding out the condition you’ve had for 10 years is actually so different than you were told. Sure, the symptoms haven’t changed, but I’ve discovered there are more symptoms that I didn’t know that directly relate to me – such as my anxiety.

When I learn about issues that directly relate to my health, I REALLY want to share it so that anyone going through this situation can learn new information that really helped me. However, the information is so fresh in my mind that I need to take a few moments to myself to allow the information to sink in and organize my own life to get it on the right track.

I want to spend some time writing a quality post related to the seminar I went to so I can share all of the new information I learned but I think it will take me a couple days to get organized in my own head to get the motivation to write about it all. But! I wanted to write a post today to show that 1. I am still here 🙂 and 2. even a “common disorder” can still play a monumental role in someone’s life and I want to share the struggles that I am going through because there may be someone else out there that feels the same way, so I want you to know that you’re not alone.

When I return in a couple days I plan to talk about so many things, like what to ask your doctor, what things should be included in your blood test, the different vitamins hypothyroid people can be deficient of, and then further down the line, other autoimmune related issues that can be running alongside your thyroid. So much to learn and so much to know! But there is a lifestyle out there that will greatly benefit all of us affected by a thyroid disease, and to me, that’s the light at the end of the tunnel!

Until then 🙂

Leave a Reply

