Health · Recipes

Thai Curry Recipe – Vegan, GF

I wanted to share this thai curry recipe – we make it all the time and we totally love it. It’s seriously as good as the curry you buy at your local Thai restaurant. I happened to be making it for dinner tonight so it worked out perfectly because I could capture plenty of pictures of the process. I will walk you through the recipe in photo form first and then the complete recipe will be at the bottom.

20160302_183105

So first things first you need to cut up the onion, ginger, garlic and peppers because once the stove/pan get hot everything moves really quickly. Also you can see the red curry paste we use and a couple cans of coconut milk. As you can see in the right-hand picture below I have a pot of potatoes boiling. Sometimes I cook the potatoes in the curry sauce but this speeds up the process. I start boiling them first and before they get too soft I take them out and add them to the curry.

Heat a pan (I use two because this makes quite a bit) with coconut oil and once the oil is melted and the pan is hot add in the curry paste. The jar itself and many recipes say to use 1 tbsp for the entire recipe but I don’t find that to be enough at all. Since I cook in two pans I use a heaping tablespoon per pan. Once you put it in the pan fry it in the oil for a minute or so – this helps bring out the flavour.

I forgot to take a picture of this part but add in the onion, garlic and ginger and fry until the onion becomes translucent. Then add in the bell peppers and stir it up so the curry paste coats the vegetables. Let this cook for a few minutes. Then add in the coconut milk – I don’t buy light coconut milk, I prefer the thicker stuff.

Once the coconut milk is stirred in I add the apple cider vinegar and the tamari sauce. These give the flavour that fish sauce would normally give. I also add in my spices at this point. You can see in the background of the left picture my second pot of curry going. This makes quite a bit – enough for 4-6 people. And in the picture on the right you can see in the pot at the back that I’ve drained the potatoes and added them into the curry and switched it over to rice to start cooking. At this point I let the curry simmer until the rice is cooked. The timing works out great.

When there is only a couple minutes left before the rice is finished I add in the chopped bok choy. It gives it a nice look with the bright greens and it tastes great.  And ta da! An amazing bowl of Thai curry.

Let me know if you try the recipe or if you plan to and how it works out! I promise it’s amazing!

wp-1456968878081.jpg

 

Thai Curry

Serves 4-6     Prep Time: 20 min     Cook Time: 40 min

Ingredients:

Coconut Oil
2 tbsp red curry paste
1 large yellow onion, diced
1 inch fresh ginger, peeled and chopped
3 cloves garlic, chopped
Coriander powder, to taste
1 tsp turmeric
2 tbsp apple cider vinegar
2 tbsp gluten free tamari
Juice of half a lime
4 potatoes, diced
2 bell peppers, diced
3 heads of baby bok choy
2 cans of coconut milk

1 cup uncooked basmati rice

Directions:

  1. Bring a pot of water to a boil, add in the chopped potatoes and boil until just before they are soft
  2. Heat up oil, use 2 tbsp of red (or green) curry paste and heat up with the oil. Fry, stirring constantly for 3-5 minutes
  3. Add in the onion, fresh ginger, garlic and sauté with the curry paste until onion is translucent
  4. Add in peppers and continue to stir for another 3 minutes
  5. Add in the coconut milk, coriander, turmeric, apple cider vinegar, and tamari to the onion mixture and bring to a boil
  6. Take the potatoes off the heat and add them to the curry
  7. Fill the same pot up with water and cook the rice according to package instructions
  8. Meanwhile, allow the curry to simmer for 20-30 minutes until potatoes are tender and the rice is cooked
  9. Add in the baby bok choy and cook for another 3 minutes, or until it wilts
  10. If needed, add in more spice, tamari, apple cider vinegar or lime juice to taste

 

If you like this recipe or are looking for more delicious vegan/gluten free recipes make sure to check out my 7 Day Vegan Challenge which is full of super delicious recipes!

3 thoughts on “Thai Curry Recipe – Vegan, GF

Leave a Reply

