Health · nutrition · Wellness

Bringing It Back In To Focus

I’ve been struggling with my motivation for the past little while now. I’m not unhappy with my life, however, I used to come home with a purpose. There was always something more I wanted to do and there was not enough time in the day to complete all my goals. I was definitely feeling like this while I worked at my previous job. I hated my job and I knew it wasn’t what I wanted to do for the rest of my life and I had an insane amount of down time at work. Which meant I had an insane amount of time to think about what I wanted to do in the future and I had all of these business plans and ideas. But then I switched jobs – and now I don’t have a ton of time in my day and I enjoy my job. It’s challenging and it’s fun. Which is why I am so confused these days.

Here’s what I know. I love my job and I love playing in Excel all day. I’m a total Excel nerd. There is a crazy amount of information that can be learned and writing programs is so much fun – I really enjoy making macros and playing with formulas.

But I also love nutrition. And I am a self-proclaimed environmental fanatic. Like.. I’m crazy for the environment. I could talk about it all day. And I am constantly looking for new ways to decrease my footprint and educate those around me, to the point that it’s surely annoying.

Also, I’ve become a vegan in the past year which means I’m also becoming even more crazy. You don’t want it to happen, you don’t plan on it happening, but it does. And it can’t be stopped.

All of this changes my focus. I’m so caught up in reading about the environment, finding the latest and greatest vegan recipes and working all day long that I’ve become lost in everything I had planned the months prior to this job. It’s not necessarily a bad thing, but the issue is, when I come home from work I have no motivation to do anything productive. That’s not like me. For me, it’s okay to take a day or two a week to just relax and unwind, but any more than that and I feel outright useless. I don’t feel like I’m contributing to anything positive in order to push myself forward.

I created this awesome recipe booklet in December, because for a moment I had some motivation, but since then I’ve fallen short. And I’ve been so wrapped up in being vegan that I’ve started to lose focus towards my love for overall nutrition. The problem is, I’ve read so much about our current environment and I know there is a serious need for action. If we don’t start taking action soon, then the life we know it will no longer exist. They say that the Arctic ice is supposed to melt by 2020. Which in my mind seems so far away because 2020 was always that futuristic year that would never come, but then I realize that it’s only 4 years away. How scary is that. This is one of those topics we hear about, but push out of our mind because it’s such a crazy, scary thought. We don’t want to think about such a major environmental change because we don’t know what that brings for the future.

But I digress.

environmental-protection-683437_960_720

I really want to make a difference in this world. I want to help be the change we need in order to live happily ever after on planet Earth. That has been on my mind for weeks now. The thing is – I would love to do this full time – but how does one devote their full time life to this, while making a decent living? Because unfortunately, the world still runs on money. This is why I would love it if everyone tried to be vegan for a week. Just to see that it’s possible. I don’t expect the whole world to go vegan, but just one week to shift your mind frame to see that it isn’t what you think. It’s a great way to expand your mind, your thinking and gain a new perspective. The amount of times I hear “I  could never stop eating meat” or “I have no idea how you do that” – it really isn’t that difficult. And with the right recipes you have amazing food and you wouldn’t even notice that it is meatless. One week, and your perspective will change. Even if you find a couple meals and it changes your habits from 7+ meals with meat a week, down to 5. That would make a difference in the world.

This is where I am trying to bring my focus back. I want to take my love for the environment, and my newfound veganism and incorporate it into my passion for nutrition. By bringing up the idea of reducing dairy, eggs and meat from a diet I can start to make a difference. If you read my vegan recipe book and you think “that would taste good with chicken” – then try it. Because in the end, the rest of the recipe is way healthier than going out for fast food, or buying a frozen dinner. Sure, I think you should try it vegan first, then add chicken the next time you make it. However, if adding chicken is going to get you to try these recipes, then I am all for it. Because the end game is to bring health and nutrition back.

When it comes down to it, I would rather see people become more healthy. Lower blood pressure, lower blood sugar, lose excess weight, ward off diabetes, prevent a heart attack – whatever you’re working on. It is important for me to see people become happy and healthy. From there I can work on showing you how to better serve the environment and the animals, once you have successfully served yourself.

I just need to bring this all back in to focus and find my motivation at the end of the day to work on both my love for my job, as well as my love for nutrition. I need to see coming home and working on nutrition information as a hobby, rather than something I feel that I need to be working on.

In a matter of time, I’m sure it will come back to me.

Leave a Reply

